Circuit home page

Welshpool and Bro Hafren Methodist Circuit
 A Gateway to Methodism in Mid Wales.

A warm welcome to the Welshpool and Bro Hafren Website. We cover a very large and beautiful geographical area stretching from Welshpool, in the north east of the Circuit and to Llanidloes in the south.

Our Superintendent Minister is Rev Bob Thomas. He has pastoral care of Newtown, Llanidloes, Caersws, Trefeglwys and Llawryglyn, Cefn and Pentre Llifior chapels. Whilst the Rev Marian Jones, an active Supernumary, has pastoral care of Welshpool. They are both supported by accredited local preachers and worship leaders. With the help of retired ministers and occasional visiting preachers there are regular acts of worship in 8 chapels across the Circuit.

Information about each of our 8 chapels can be found by using the navigation bar on the left.

Rev Bob Thomas

Chair of Wales Synod
 Rev Dr Stephen Wigley 
 Rev Bob Thomas                        
 Rev Marian Jones 
Other Ministers resident in the Circuit
 Rev Michael Taylor
  Rev Penny Burkill
 Rev John Newbury
Local Preachers 
 Mr Terry Jobling OBE      
 Mrs Eileen Jobling 
 Mr Graham Smith
 Mrs Eleri Williams
 Mrs Doris McNulty
 Mrs Maureen Douglas
 Mrs Jenny Thomas
 Mr John Harbron
 On Note 
 Andrea Davies 
On Note
 Kat Bond 
 No longer taking services
 Worship Leaders
 Mr & Mrs Alan Bradburn
 Mr Derek Painter (in Training)
Chapels and attached
 Circuit Stewards
 Janice Rhodes (sub: Michael)
 Pentre Llifior
 Janice Rhodes  (Derek Painter)
 Stan Mountford (Anthea)
 Janice Rhodes (Stan)
 Michael Jones (Stan)
 Anthea Bradburn (Alun)
 Michael Jones
 Llawr Y Glyn
 Michael Jones (Alun)
 Kevin Gilman (Michael)            



Forthcoming or Recent Events:-

Circuit Meeting on Thursday  8th March, 7pm at Newtown.

Pilgrimage to the Holy Land in 2018 - for further details of Rev Marian's trip view over to the left under the Navigation bar.

Welcome to Rev Bob as Superintendent Minister. Click here for photographs of the service.

Retirement and Acknowledgement
 of Service:

Towards the end of the Easter Offering Circuit Service at Newtown recently, Rev Sue acknowledged Mrs Doris McNulty's Retirement and huge contribution to the Circuit as a Local Preacher by presenting her with a certificate (signed by 2015-16 President, Rev Steve Wild). Doris has  completed well over 20 years in this role.

Fellowship & Study Day with Rev Irfan John and his family. A collection of photographs of the day can be viewed by navigating across to the left-hand Menu.

Acknowledgement of Service.

At the end of an evening service at Newtown, on behalf of the Circuit, John Harbron acknowledged Graham Smith's huge contribution to the Circuit as a Local Preacher by presenting him with a certificate (signed by 2015-16 President, Rev Steve Wild and Vice-President Dr. Jill Bamber. Graham has  completed over 40 years in this role. More photographs can be seen by clicking here.

Contemplative Prayer - You are all welcome to contemplative prayer as part of your journey with God. "Waiting on God in the silence" will be a half hour of silent prayer held at the Manse, Newtown at 2.30pm on the second Tuesday of each month.